“My Not So Perfect Life” is almost perfect

I love Sophie Kinsella. But after the highly disappointing read of “Shopaholic to the Stars,” I was scared out of my mind about opening her latest book. But after only a chapter or two, I had completely forgotten about the Shopaholic Who Should Be Retired.

Me and Sophie Kinsella go way back, so to speak. My copy of “Confessions of a Shopaholic” is so worn out by the many times I’ve read it, and all of the miles it has traveled with me as a comfort read. But as time has gone by, I’ve looked less and less forward to the Shopaholic series, and instead craved the always amazing stand-alone books Kinsella writes.

And here’s the deal: After reading “Shopaholic to the Stars” I felt… Well, sad, to be honest. Kinsella has always blown me away with her amazingly witty and warm stories that seems to stick to your heart for weeks or months after reading them. But “Shopaholic to the Stars” left me thinking this was an unfortunate continuation of an otherwise good series of books. So when I picked up “My Not So Perfect Life” just a few days ago, I was slightly worried that the bad Shopaholic-vibes would have rubbed off onto Kinsella writing this. But I was worried for nothing. This latest stand-alone book of Kinsellas is straight up wonderful. It’s different, it’s smart and it’s as warm as a hot cup of cocoa on a January night.

I usually don’t like comparison, it’s an awful habit we humans have. But when I read “My Not So Perfect Life” I couldn’t help but think of another book I read not too long ago: Mad About the Boy. In this every so digitalized world, Helen Fielding dragged Bridget Jones into the digital world, and now so did Kinsella with her main character. The problem is, and here comes the worst part of the comparison, While Fielding had Bridget Jones use Twitter as a steam outlet, Kinsella dug way deeper into social media usage. She had her main characters tackle the issue with internet facades on for example Instagram. And, she did it brilliantly.

If you’re still not sold on what to read next, I can tell you what the book’s about. Katie is just below the 30 mark, and is loving her London life. She got a successful job and a nice flat, and she eats at fancy new restaurants and drinks hot chocolate at hip cafées. Or well… Not really. Her Instagram feed tells one story, but her real life is a whole other. The flat she rents is shared with two other people who aren’t really that fun or friendly. And her job isn’t paying well, and it has a horrible boss and tedious assignments. So while Katie is trying really hard to make her life in London work, and hoping one day her dreams will come true, reality hits her right in the… Stomach. She get’s laid off, and then the way to her dreams are even longer than before. So while she tries to get her life back together, she accidentally crosses path with her old boss, the person who shattered her dreams and ruined her life.

So If you are an old Kinsellaholic looking for that old, gooey-good feeling you got from “Remember Me” or “I’ve Got Your Number” then this book is for you. Or, if you’re new to the whole chick-lit deal, this is also for you. It’s easy to read, hard to put down. It’s cute and clever. It’s everything people love about Sophie Kinsella’s books.

Leave a Reply

